Future Drought Fund

A GROUP of eminent Australians has been established to help deliver $100 million in drought resilience and preparedness programs to communities every year through the Future Drought Fund.

Minister for Drought David Littleproud announced the Future Drought Fund Consultative Committee as an important milestone in taking action on drought.

The committee will now develop the Drought Resilience Funding Plan for the Fund, which begins with a $3.9 billion credit that will grow to $5 billion.

“The Australian Government is getting on with the job of building nationwide drought resilience,” Minister Littleproud said.

“The Future Drought Fund was established to give drought-prone Australians the best tools to plan and prepare for drought and sustain their livelihoods and communities.

“This committee is made up of people with track records of success in agricultural economics, managing climate risk, rural and regional development and natural resource management.

Chair, Mr Brent Finlay, and committee members Dr Kate Andrews, Dr Wendy Craik AM, Dr Elizabeth Peterson and Ms Caroline Welsh will begin their work in Canberra later this month.